top of page

History of the Club

The Malaysian Petroleum Club is the brainchild of the late Tun Azizan, a ‘Quintessential Man’ and a true captain of industry who contributed priceless amount of time and effort in helping shaped and developed Malaysia.

The exclusive business club is the centerpiece of the Malaysian oil & gas industry, their associates and the civil service. It first opened in 1991 at the original headquarters of PETRONAS in Dayabumi Complex where the Malaysian Petroleum Club’s charter was written and approved by a pro tem committee headed by PETRONAS’ top brass, and subsequently approved by the General Meeting.

The Malaysian Petroleum Club has since moved and further established itself as a top-notch business networking avenue atop Level 41, 42 and 43 of Tower 2 PETRONAS Twin Towers, in the heart of Kuala Lumpur.

Founder & Past Presidents

The Late Tun Azizan Zainul Abidin

MPC was founded by Tun Azizan Zainul Abidin, the former President / CEO and Chairman of PETRONAS.

Founder and 1st President

Tan Sri Dato Sri Mohd Hassan Marican

He transformed PETRONAS into a strong & profitable company that benefited Malaysian in all forms of subsidies, fiscal policies and economic plans.

2nd President

Tan Sri Dato Shamsul Azhar Abbas

A charismatic PETRONAS veteran who was the former President / CEO of Petronas from 2010 - 2015

3rd President

Datuk Wan.jpg

Tan Sri Wan Zulkiflee

His vast experience in successfully steering PETRONAS with many notable achievements while navigating a challenging business landscape. He was the president and CEO of Petronas from April 2015 until 30 June 2020.

4th President

bottom of page